GO GO POWER RANGERS!

This may come as a bit of a shock, but I adored Power Rangers when I was a kid.

Old Power Rangers

I was 5-6 when the original US Power Rangers show came out and I wanted to be the Pink Ranger more than anything. They were cool kids who had the job of saving the world; who wouldn’t want to do that?!?! Be a part of a team of heroes? That is LITERALLY the dream of kids.

When I heard that there was going to be a new adaption of this beloved (albeit sometimes hokey) franchise, I was hoping that they wouldn’t try to completely revamp it in the same style as it’s predecessors. Kids today aren’t the same as they were 20 years ago; they have a different sort of humor and different issues.  I knew that a movie like the ones we had when I was a kid wouldn’t succeed in today’s youth audience.

I watched only the Teaser Trailer, because so many of the trailers now reveal so much.

Scoff

When I heard that Bryan Cranston and Elizabeth Banks had signed onto the film, I knew the script would be good.

So yesterday, the fam and I went to see it. Front row, popcorn at the ready.

Power Rangers2

You can already see the changes to the suits, the difference in the story and it starts off on a somber note. Not exactly what you expected from a Power Rangers movie.

Let me say, this is DARKER than any of the others in the franchise.

It’s not a child movie, it’s definitely more of a preteen and up film. Though it does have enough action to keep younger kids engaged, a lot of the dialogue is a bit more advanced then for a child only audience. And not only in the sense of the language (i.e. profanity) but also some of the jokes and there’s a lot of foreign languages so there’s subtitles. But all the critical scenes that develop motives is in a universal language, so everyone will be able to understand. But it was definitely written with the fact that there will be 30 year old people are going to be watching this with their children.

There is a lot of differences to the film, but the universal story is the same. The world needs to be protected and 5 teenagers are chosen to be the defenders.

Now, shall we talk about the villain? YES, let’s!

Cheese

Elizabeth Banks and I have been in a serious thing for quite sometime. She makes the movies and I watch everything she makes. It’s that serious.

Pretty Serious

I love her. There I admitted it.

Rita Repulsa

Even as the foe of the Power Rangers she was crazy excellent. We got to see a whole new side to an old enemy and a fresh beginning for the role. Of course, the original Rita was the original and can never be replaced, but Elizabeth was a new take on the character and didn’t try to recreate some of old Rita’s spunk. She had her own. I will be excited to see if we see her in the future.

So go out and see this one. Go into it with the love you have for the original but the open-mindness of a new beginning. There were some wonderful scenes and as a whole this movie worked. Nothing was unnecessary.

Just trust me and check it out!

Power Rangers

Then come back and let me know what you think!

 

UNTIL NEXT TIME DEARIES.

 

XOXOXO,

MILADY

Blowing

Leave a comment